Skip to content
HowMuchCost

How much is an allergy test?

There is no national price for an allergy test that this site can date and cite: Medicare's national outpatient price lookup does not cover it, and no free national price for it with a date of its own could be found. So the prices below are what named hospitals publish, including the price each will accept from a patient paying cash. An allergy test is priced by how many allergens are tested, and blood tests and skin tests are billed differently. For a blood test, CPT 86003, Boston Medical Center publishes $48.00 per allergen with a cash price of $21.60 in its file dated 13 March 2026, and Franklin Memorial Hospital publishes $57.10 per allergen in its file dated 9 September 2025. For a skin prick test, CPT 95004, The University of Chicago Medical Center prices by the number of tests in its file dated 1 April 2026: $861.00 for 1 to 15 tests, $1,722.00 for 16 to 30, and $4,304.00 for 61 or more. Boston Medical Center publishes $217.00 for the same code, with a cash price of $97.65, and does not say how many tests that covers.

This is one of the tests and procedures priced on this site from hospitals' own files; the rest are in the medical costs guides.

$48.00 list, $21.60 cash

CPT 86003, a blood test for one allergen, at one hospital on 13 March 2026

Boston Medical Center , Attested by Christopher Abate, file last_updated_on 13 March 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 25 September 2026.

$861.00

a skin prick test of 1 to 15 allergens at a second hospital, on its main line, list and cash alike

The University of Chicago Medical Center , Attested by Chris Allen, file last_updated_on 1 April 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

$57.10

the same blood test code, per allergen, at a third hospital, list and cash alike

Franklin Memorial Hospital , Attested by Kenneth Olsen, file last_updated_on 9 September 2025. United States · US dollars. Checked 25 September 2026.

Cost breakdown

Each table below comes from one source, named underneath it, with the date that source last revised the figures. Everything is a United States figure in USD.

Skin prick tests at The University of Chicago Medical Center, CPT 95004 by number of tests, from its file last updated 1 April 2026

Tests on the lineMain lineLines ending "-Pbb"Line beginning "Pr"
1 to 15$861.00$861.30 and $920.70$59.00
16 to 30$1,722.00$1,721.50 and $1,840.30$119.00
31 to 45$2,582.80$2,582.80 and $2,761.00$178.00
46 to 60$3,443.00$3,443.00 and $3,680.60$238.00
61 and up$4,304.00$4,304.00 and $4,546.00$242.00
No band on the line$720.00$680.00 and $655.00$41.00

Every line is the file's own, and the cash price is the list price on all of them. The lines beginning "Hc" are priced far above the one line per band beginning "Pr", and the file does not say what either prefix or the suffix "-Pbb" means, or which line a visit is billed on. The patch test code, 95044, uses the same bands, from $861.00 for 1 to 15 tests to $4,304.00 for 61 and up.

The University of Chicago Medical Center , Attested by Chris Allen, file last_updated_on 1 April 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Allergy blood tests at The University of Chicago Medical Center, CPT 86003, from the same file

Description, as the file prints itGross charge, list and cash alike
Hc Allergen Specific Ige Each$103.00
Hc Allergen Specific Ige Each Pnl1$72.00
Hc Allergen Specific Ige Each Pnl2$90.00
Hc Allergen Level 1$37.00
Hc Allergen Level 2$96.00
Hc Midwest Repiratory Panel$21.00
Hc Soybean Allergen$61.00
Hc Allergen Peanut Component$133.00
Four lines: Hc Allergen Specific Ige, Hc Ige Specific Quantitative Multiallergen Panel, Hc Misc Nut Allergen, Hc Misc Fish Allergen$142.00

The same code on twelve priced lines at nine prices. The generic line says "Each", so $103.00 is per allergen there; the file does not say how many allergens the panel lines cover. A component test, CPT 86008, is $99.00 each on its generic line.

The University of Chicago Medical Center , Attested by Chris Allen, file last_updated_on 1 April 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Allergy tests at Boston Medical Center, from its file last updated 13 March 2026

CPTTestDescription, as the file prints itGross chargeCash price
86003Blood test, per allergenHC Chg Allergen Specific Ige Quan/Semiquan Ea Allergen$48.00$21.60
86008Blood test, per componentHC Allergen Spec Ige Recombinant/Purified Compnt Ea$50.00$22.50
95004Skin prick testHC Percutaneous Tests W/Allergenic Extracts$217.00$97.65
95024Skin test under the skinHC Intracutaneous Tests W/Allergenic Extracts$262.00$117.90
95044Patch testHC Patch/Application Test Specify Number Tests$240.00$108.00

One gross and one cash price per code on every line. The two blood test descriptions say "Ea", each, so those are per allergen or component. The skin and patch test descriptions do not say whether the figure is per test or per visit, and the patch line says "Specify Number Tests" without saying how the number changes the charge, so neither is multiplied here.

Boston Medical Center , Attested by Christopher Abate, file last_updated_on 13 March 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 25 September 2026.

Allergy tests at Franklin Memorial Hospital, from its file last updated 9 September 2025

CPT and billing classDescription, as the file prints itFacility charge, list and cash alikePlan rates, the file's minimum to maximum
86003, facilityHC ALLERGEN SPEC IGE CRUDE ALLERGEN EXTRACT EACH$57.10$5.80 to $53.67 outpatient, $43.28 to $53.67 inpatient
86008, facilityHC ALLERGEN SPEC IGE RECOMCOMPNT EA$107.60$19.93 to $101.14 outpatient, $81.55 to $101.14 inpatient
95004, professionalPERQ TESTS W/ALRGNC XTRCSnot published$3.70 to $9.15
95024, professionalIQ TESTS W/ALLERGENIC XTRCSnot published$0.89 to $15.42
95044, professionalPATCH/APPLICATION TESTSnot published$4.60 to $10.16

The blood tests carry the same facility figure inpatient and outpatient. For the skin and patch tests this hospital publishes plan rates only, with no gross or cash figure, so what a person paying for themselves would be charged is not published. The file does not state the unit for the skin test plan rates. The minimum and maximum are the fields the file prints; no range was worked out here.

Franklin Memorial Hospital , Attested by Kenneth Olsen, file last_updated_on 9 September 2025. United States · US dollars. Checked 25 September 2026.

Skin prick tests at The University of Chicago Medical Center, CPT 95004 by number of tests, from its file last updated 1 April 2026, drawn to scale

A bar for each row of the table above, 6 of them, drawn to the same scale so the spread is visible at a glance. The figure beside each bar is the one the table prints.

A bar for each row of the table above, 6 of them, drawn to the same scale so the spread is visible at a glance. The figure beside each bar is the one the table prints.

1 to 15 $861.00
16 to 30 $1,722.00
31 to 45 $2,582.80
46 to 60 $3,443.00
61 and up $4,304.00
No band on the line $720.00

Drawn to scale from the figures above. The University of Chicago Medical Center, file last_updated_on 1 April 2026. Price transparency: standard charges machine-readable file.

What changes the price

How many allergens are tested
The University of Chicago Medical Center prices a skin prick test in bands, from $861.00 for 1 to 15 tests to $4,304.00 for 61 or more. Every blood test description in these files says "each", so a panel is priced per allergen.
Skin test or blood test
They are different codes. Boston Medical Center publishes $48.00 per allergen for the blood test, CPT 86003, and $217.00 for the skin prick code, CPT 95004, without saying how many tests that figure covers.
Which line it is billed on
The University of Chicago Medical Center publishes the skin prick test for 1 to 15 allergens at $861.00 on its main line and $59.00 on a line beginning "Pr", and does not say which a visit falls on.
Whether you are paying cash
Boston Medical Center publishes cash prices at 45 percent of its gross charge on each allergy code. The other two hospitals publish the same figure for cash as for list, or no figure at all.

How to pay less

Ask how many allergens will be tested
The count sets the price on both kinds of test. Ask which allergens and how many before the appointment.
Ask which code and which line
Quote CPT 95004 for a skin prick test and 86003 for a blood test, and ask whether the hospital bills the number of tests or a band.
Ask a hospital for its cash price
Boston Medical Center publishes a cash price under half its gross charge on each of these codes; the other two hospitals here publish no cash discount.

Questions

How much is an allergy test without insurance?

Ask the hospital or clinic for its cash price before you book. Hospitals must publish a discounted cash price where they offer one, and the files quoted on this page show those prices beside the list price. With insurance, what you pay depends on your plan's negotiated rate, your deductible and your coinsurance, so ask your insurer for an estimate.

How much is an allergy test?

Boston Medical Center publishes $48.00 per allergen for a blood test in its file dated 13 March 2026. The University of Chicago Medical Center publishes $861.00 for a skin prick test of 1 to 15 allergens on its main line in its file dated 1 April 2026.

How much is an allergy test without insurance?

That is the cash price where a hospital publishes one. Boston Medical Center publishes $21.60 per allergen for a blood test and $97.65 for its skin prick code. The University of Chicago Medical Center and Franklin Memorial Hospital publish the same figure for cash as for list where they publish one.

Is a skin prick test priced per allergen?

At The University of Chicago Medical Center it is priced by the number of tests, in bands of fifteen, and its own description of the code says to specify the number of tests. Boston Medical Center does not say what its single figure covers.

Is a blood test cheaper than a skin test?

Per allergen, the blood test figures here are lower: Boston Medical Center publishes $48.00 per allergen for CPT 86003. Whether a whole test is cheaper depends on how many allergens are tested, because the blood test is charged for each one.

Why does a hospital have to publish this?

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services requires every hospital operating in the United States to publish a comprehensive machine-readable file of all items and services and a consumer-friendly display of shoppable services, states that it audits a sample of hospitals and investigates complaints, and states that hospitals may face civil monetary penalties for noncompliance.

For scans, procedures and other tests priced the same way, see every guide in medical costs.

Where these figures come from

Every figure here is published by the hospital named beside it, in US dollars, in the United States, in its own machine-readable standard charges file under 45 CFR 180.50, and each file carries the attestation that the information encoded is true, accurate and complete as of the date in the file. The dates are the ones the files give themselves: 13 March 2026 for Boston Medical Center, 9 September 2025 for Franklin Memorial Hospital, and 1 April 2026 for The University of Chicago Medical Center. All three files were downloaded again before this page was written, and each was byte-identical to the copy read on 25 September 2026. Before any figure was quoted, the unit each file prices was read from its own description: "each" on every blood test line, bands of tests on one hospital's skin test lines, and nothing stated on the other's. Where a unit is not stated, the figure is shown as printed and not multiplied. Nothing here is averaged or restated as a typical cost.

  • Hospital Price Transparency

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · page last modified 16 September 2026

    The rule itself. CMS states that starting 1 January 2021 each hospital operating in the United States is required to publish pricing information online in two ways, as a comprehensive machine-readable file with all items and services and as a display of shoppable services in a consumer-friendly format, that CMS audits a sample of hospitals and investigates complaints, and that hospitals may face civil monetary penalties for noncompliance. Cited for the obligation and the enforcement, never for a price.

  • Hospital Price Transparency: Consumers

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · page last modified 10 September 2024

    CMS's own description of what a hospital must make public: standard charges including the rates they negotiate with insurance companies and the discounted price a hospital is willing to accept directly from a patient if paid in cash. Cited for what the files are supposed to contain, which is how this page can say what a given file leaves out.

  • Hospital Price Transparency: Hospitals

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · page last modified 10 March 2026

    The CMS page setting out what a hospital must publish: a single machine-readable file of gross charges, discounted cash prices, payer-specific negotiated charges and de-identified minimum and maximum negotiated charges for all items and services, and a display of at least 300 shoppable services a consumer can schedule in advance.

  • Pricing and estimates: standard charges machine-readable file

    Boston Medical Center · Attested by Christopher Abate · file last_updated_on 13 March 2026

    The hospital's own machine-readable file, 043314093_BostonMedicalCenter_standardcharges.csv, schema version 3.0.0, carrying the attestation required by 45 CFR 180.50 that the information encoded is true, accurate and complete as of the date in the file. Unlike its inpatient rows, its imaging rows carry a gross charge, a discounted cash price and a rate for each named health plan, which is why this page can answer the question about paying without insurance from a published figure rather than an estimate.

  • Price transparency: standard charges machine-readable file

    The University of Chicago Medical Center · Attested by Chris Allen · file last_updated_on 1 April 2026

    The hospital's own machine-readable file, 363488183_the-university-of-chicago-medical-center_standardcharges.json, schema version 3.0.0, carrying the attestation required by 45 CFR 180.50 that the information encoded is true, accurate and complete as of the date in the file. At MS-DRG level it publishes no gross charge and no discounted cash price, and instead names each health plan and the rate agreed with it, alongside a minimum and a maximum.

  • Standard charges machine-readable file

    Franklin Memorial Hospital · Attested by Kenneth Olsen · file last_updated_on 9 September 2025

    The hospital's own machine-readable file, 010238552-1922791417_mainehealth_standardcharges.csv, schema version 3.0.0, published by MaineHealth for its Franklin Memorial Hospital location in Farmington, Maine, and carrying the same attestation under 45 CFR 180.50. It is the oldest of the three files quoted here and is said rather than smoothed. On every imaging row its discounted cash price is identical to its gross charge.

Sources on this page checked between 23 September and 9 October 2026. How we source prices.

Have a cost question?

Have a cost question?

Is there a price you could not find here, or a figure that looks wrong? Ask, and a person reads it and replies.