Skip to content
HowMuchCost

How much does dog training cost?

It depends almost entirely on whether somebody else does the training or you do. A group class where you handle your own dog runs $149 for six weeks at PetSmart and $220 for six weeks at Oregon Humane Society. Sending the dog away to live with a trainer runs $2,200 for two weeks at Off Leash K9 Training Nashville and $5,800 for four. That is the same problem at two prices that are not in the same range, because in one case you are buying the trainer hours and in the other you are spending your own. The cheapest published figure on this page is $25 for a single drop-in puppy session at Oregon Humane Society, puppy classes.

$149

one six-week group class at a national chain, any level

PetSmart , no date shown on the page, offers running to 27 September 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

$220

one six-week group class at a nonprofit, the rate from 1 September 2026

Oregon Humane Society , last updated 8 September 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

$2,200 to $5,800

board and train, two to four weeks with the dog living at the trainer

Off Leash K9 Training Nashville , last updated 15 July 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Cost breakdown

Each table below comes from one source, named underneath it, with the date that source last revised the figures. Everything is a United States figure in USD.

PetSmart, published class and package prices

WhatPriceWhat it buys
Puppy Training$149Six-week introductory class, 10 weeks to 5 months old
Beginner Training$149Six-week class, 5 months and up
Intermediate Training$149Six weeks, requires Puppy or Beginner first
Advanced Training$149Six weeks, requires Intermediate first
Fundamental Package$249Two classes over 12 weeks. Stated retail value $298, saving $49
Advanced Package$249Two classes over 12 weeks. Stated retail value $298, saving $49
Premium Package$355Three classes over 18 weeks. Stated retail value $447, saving $92
Any six-week class, promotional rate$129An offer running to 27 September 2026
ConsultationFree15 minutes with a trainer

The chain also states that package savings are calculated against buying each class individually, and runs a members offer of $30 back on a two-class package and $40 back on a three-class package.

PetSmart , no date shown on the page, offers running to 27 September 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Off Leash K9 Training Nashville, published programs

ProgramPriceWhat it buys
Puppy Training Consultation$100.00A consultation
AKC S.T.A.R. Puppy Package$400.00Six lessons
Basic and Marker Mastery$500.00Four hourly sessions, no e-collar
Basic Obedience$650.00Four private lessons over four weeks
Basic and Advanced Training$1,000.00Eight-week programme
Therapy Dog Preparation$1,000.00Eight sessions, preparing for therapy dog testing
Aggression, Basic and Advanced$1,100.00Curriculum for aggression cases
Basic Board and Train$2,200.00Two weeks living with a trainer, four guaranteed commands
Board and Train with Lifetime Refresher$2,900.00Two weeks, plus lifetime refresher
Aggression or Anxiety Board and Train$3,500.00Two weeks
Aggression Board and Train$4,350.00Three weeks
Elite Board and Train$5,800.00Four weeks, plus lifetime refresher

The two-week board and train includes a one and a half hour handover session afterwards, so the owner is shown how to handle the dog. The trainer also states that its guarantee and lifetime support terms apply to selected programmes only.

Off Leash K9 Training Nashville , last updated 15 July 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Oregon Humane Society, published class prices for dogs of six to eighteen months

ClassPriceFrom 1 September 2026
Adolescent Manners, Portland$200 for 6 weeks$220 for 6 weeks
Reactive Adolescence, Portland$250 for 6 weeks$275 for 6 weeks
Adolescent Manners, Salem$165 for 5 weeks$185 for 5 weeks
Adolescent Playtime, Salem$25 per session, or $100 for fiveNot stated

The two campuses are priced differently for the same class, and the Salem course runs five weeks against six in Portland. The nonprofit publishes the increase in advance with the date it takes effect, which most price lists do not.

Oregon Humane Society , last updated 8 September 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

Oregon Humane Society, published class prices for puppies under six months

ClassPriceFrom 1 September 2026
Puppy Romps, Portland$25 per session, or $100 for fiveNot stated
Puppy Preschool, Portland$200 for 6 weeks$220 for 6 weeks
Puppy Kindergarten, Portland$200 for 6 weeks$220 for 6 weeks
Puppy Playtime, Salem$25 per session, or $100 for fiveNot stated
Puppy Preschool, Salem$165 for 5 weeks$185 for 5 weeks
Puppy Kindergarten, Salem$165 for 5 weeks$185 for 5 weeks

The drop-in socialisation sessions are the cheapest published training figures on this page. They are socialisation rather than obedience instruction, and the age bands are narrow, from nine weeks to twenty-four weeks depending on the session.

Oregon Humane Society, puppy classes , last updated 8 September 2026. United States · US dollars. Checked 23 September 2026.

PetSmart, published class and package prices, drawn to scale

A bar for each row of the table above, 8 of them, drawn to the same scale so the spread is visible at a glance. The figure beside each bar is the one the table prints.

A bar for each row of the table above, 8 of them, drawn to the same scale so the spread is visible at a glance. The figure beside each bar is the one the table prints.

Puppy Training $149
Beginner Training $149
Intermediate Training $149
Advanced Training $149
Fundamental Package $249
Advanced Package $249
Premium Package $355
Any six-week class, promotional rate $129

Drawn to scale from the figures above. PetSmart, no date shown on the page, offers running to 27 September 2026. Dog Training Classes.

What changes the price

Whether you are buying the trainer time or your own
This is the whole spread, and everything else is detail. In a group class you are taught to train your dog, and PetSmart charges $149 for six weeks of that. In board and train the dog leaves home and a professional does the work, and Off Leash K9 Training Nashville charges $2,200 for two weeks of it. Neither is a worse deal than the other; they are different purchases.
Group or one to one
A class splits the trainer across a room of dogs, which is what makes it cheap, and it means the instruction is not aimed at your dog specifically. Off Leash K9 Training Nashville charges $650 for four private lessons, against $149 at PetSmart for six group sessions, so private lessons cost several times more per hour and there is no other dog in the room.
What the dog needs it for
Ordinary manners and a specific behaviour problem are priced apart. Off Leash K9 Training Nashville publishes $2,200 for a basic two-week board and train and $3,500 for the two-week aggression and anxiety programme. Oregon Humane Society charges $250 for its Portland reactive adolescence class against $200 for ordinary adolescent manners.
Which campus, even at the same provider
The same organisation can charge two prices for the same class. Oregon Humane Society publishes $200 for six weeks of adolescent manners in Portland and $165 for five weeks in Salem, and the Salem course is a week shorter as well as cheaper, so the gap per session is smaller than the headline suggests.
Whether you buy classes singly or bundled
Chains price the bundle below the sum of its parts and publish the arithmetic. PetSmart lists its three-class Premium Package at $355 against a stated retail value of $447, a saving of $92, and its two-class packages at $249 against $298.
When you book
A published price is a price on a date, and training prices move. Oregon Humane Society published a rise from $200 to $220 on its six-week Portland classes with the date it took effect, and PetSmart was running any six-week class at $129 rather than $149 when this page was written.

How to pay less

Start with a class and only escalate if it fails
The gap between the two approaches is large enough that a class is worth trying first for ordinary manners. Six weeks at PetSmart is $149, which is a fraction of the $2,200 that two weeks of board and train costs at Off Leash K9 Training Nashville, and it also teaches the handler.
Look at the shelter before the specialist
A humane society runs classes as part of keeping animals in homes rather than as its main trade. Oregon Humane Society publishes $165 for a five-week adolescent class at its Salem campus, and $25 for a single drop-in session.
Buy the bundle if you already know you want the sequence
Where the classes are sequential and you intend to do all of them, the package is cheaper and the provider says by how much. PetSmart publishes a $92 saving on the three-class package and $49 on each two-class package.
Ask what a package guarantees before paying for the guarantee
Two board and train programmes at the same trainer differ by the follow-up rather than the training. Off Leash K9 Training Nashville charges $2,200 for two weeks and $2,900 for the same two weeks with a lifetime refresher, so the refresher is $700 and is worth pricing on its own.
Check the campus and the course length together
A cheaper course can be a shorter course. Oregon Humane Society charges $165 for five weeks in Salem and $200 for six weeks in Portland, which is much closer per session than the two headline numbers look.

Questions

Why is board and train so much more expensive than a class?

Because you are buying a professional to do the work instead of being taught to do it yourself, plus boarding for the dog while they do. Off Leash K9 Training Nashville charges $2,200 for two weeks of that. A six-week group class at PetSmart is $149, and in it you handle your own dog.

Is a cheap class worse than an expensive one?

Not necessarily, because the cheap ones are often subsidised rather than cut down. Oregon Humane Society is a nonprofit that runs classes to keep animals in their homes, and publishes $220 for a six-week course taught by its own trainers.

How much is a single session?

The cheapest published on this page is $25 for one drop-in puppy socialisation session at Oregon Humane Society, puppy classes, or $100 for five of them. That is socialisation rather than obedience instruction, which is why it is so much less than a course.

Does an aggressive or reactive dog cost more?

Yes, at both ends of the market. Oregon Humane Society charges $250 for its Portland reactive class against $200 for ordinary adolescent manners, and Off Leash K9 Training Nashville charges $3,500 for a two-week aggression and anxiety board and train against $2,200 for the basic one.

Do prices change during the year?

They do, and the better price lists say so in advance. Oregon Humane Society published its rise from $200 to $220 with the date it started, and PetSmart was advertising any six-week class at $129 instead of $149 on a promotion ending 27 September 2026.

Are these the prices I will pay?

Only at these providers, in Nashville, Portland, Salem, or a PetSmart store. They are published prices rather than a national average, which is the point of quoting them, and it also means an independent trainer in your town sets their own and may be nowhere near these.

Where these figures come from

Every figure here is a price published by the provider named beside it, in US dollars, for training a dog in the United States. Three of the four pages carry a modification date. The PetSmart page carries none, so it is a supporting row rather than the only one, and it did carry promotional offers running to 27 September 2026, which shows it was current when read. All four were read on 23 September 2026. Training prices move, as two of these providers demonstrate on their own pages, so follow the link before relying on a number. A published price is also not a quote: assessments, prerequisites and age limits are set by each provider and are on their own pages.

  • Dog Training Classes

    PetSmart · no date shown on the page, offers running to 27 September 2026

    A national chain's own published class and package prices, with the retail value and the bundled saving stated for each package. The page shows no publication date, but carries promotional offers running to 27 September 2026, so the prices were current when read.

  • Adolescent Dog Training Classes

    Oregon Humane Society · last updated 8 September 2026

    A nonprofit's own published class prices for dogs of six to eighteen months, at its Portland and Salem campuses in Oregon, including a price rise it publishes in advance with the date it takes effect.

  • Dog Training Nashville Prices and Plans

    Off Leash K9 Training Nashville · last updated 15 July 2026

    The trainer's own published price list, in Nashville, Tennessee. Twelve named programs from a puppy consultation to a four week board and train, each with the lessons or weeks it buys and the commands it covers.

  • Puppy Classes

    Oregon Humane Society, puppy classes · last updated 8 September 2026

    The same nonprofit's published prices for puppies under six months, including drop-in socialisation sessions sold singly or in a five pack, which are the cheapest published training figures on this page.

Sources on this page checked on 23 September 2026. How we source prices.

Have a cost question?

Have a cost question?

Is there a price you could not find here, or a figure that looks wrong? Ask, and a person reads it and replies.